Breaking News
Maharashtra’s Arya Naik, Kasturi Chaugale, Akshada Nigal and Sanika Mane in the quadruple sculls. The team finished second in the event clocking 07:50.01 to advance into the semifinals

Services rowers set the early tone..


Madhya Pradesh eves dominate with Manipur, Kerala, Orissa give a strong fight

Maharashtra’s Arya Naik, Kasturi Chaugale, Akshada Nigal and Sanika Mane in the quadruple sculls. The team finished second in the event clocking 07:50.01 to advance into the semifinals

Pune: Host’s Services Sports Control Board men and Madhya Pradesh women set the pace booking themselves berths in the next round on the opening day of action in the 41th Senior and 25th Open Sprint National Rowing Championship at the Army Rowing Node situated in the College of Military Engineering (CME) campus, on Tuesday.

Mid-afternoon results turned in had the Services book a quarter finals berth in the single sculls event and likewise semifinal spots in three events – double sculls, quadruple sculls and coxless pairs, respectively.

Salman Khan with 07 minutes 31.2 seconds did well over the 200o-meter run with the best time in his heats and thus taking off from where he left off last year.

In the double sculls event Services duo Kulwinder Singh and Karamjit Singh locked 06:59.3 at the finish line to top in their heat. In the quadruple sculls Services with Ashish Phugat, Jakar Khan, Karamjit Singh, Kulwinder Singh with 06:26.7 to their name topped and moved up into the draw.

The fourth place was grabbed by the coxless pair of Sannee Kumar and Iqbal Singh who managed 07:21.8.

Likewise, in the women’s section Madhya Pradesh rowers worked into last-4 berths in the light weight double sculls, quadruple sculls and single sculls events respectively. Manipur, Kerala, Orissa and Tamil Nadu were close behind winning 2 places each in the last-4.

Madhya Pradesh duo Poonam and Rukmani Dangi (08:07.0s) rolled into the light weight double sculls semis. Later, in the quadruple sculls event it was Vindhya Sankit, Poonam, Kushpreet Kaur, and Rukmani Dangi clocking 07:32.8). It was an event that brought Maharashtra delight with Arya Naik, Kasturi Chaugale, Akshada Nigal, Sanika Mane (07:50.1) delighted finishing second and a spot in the semifinals.

Khushpreet Kaur (08:40.3) signed off Madhya Pradesh’s day booking space in the single scull’s quarterfinals. The event interestingly had Mrunmayee Salgaonkar (Maharashtra) take the top spot in her heat logging 08:35.4 to make the state day and also make the last-eight of the event.

RESULTS (all Heats)

Men: Single Sculls (M1X): 1-Navdeep Singh (RFI; 07:46.0); 2-Tamil Nadu

Single Sculls (M1X): 1- E Ekshith Sai (Haryana; 07:38.0); 2- Haryana

Single Sculls (M1X): 1 -Salman Khan (Services; 07:31.2); 2- Punjab

Single Sculls (M1X): 1- Madhya Pradesh (Hariom Thakur; 07:56.1); 2-Orrisa

Open Double Sculls (MCV2X): 1: 1-RFI (Suraj Singh, Sinder; 07:13.0); 2-Delhi

Open Double Sculls (MCV2X): 1- Haryana (Lakshay, Ajay; 06:53.6) 2- Madhya Pradesh

Open Double Sculls (MCV2X): 1- Chandigarh (Ravinder, Lokesh; 06:55.0); 2- Orissa

Double Sculls (M2X): 1-Services (Kulwinder Singh, Karamjit Singh; 06:59.3); 2- Assam

Double Sculls (M2X): 1- Army (Gurpartap Singh, Ravi, 06:48.6)

Double Sculls (M2X): 1- Madhya Pradesh (Kaushlesh Pratap Singh, Sushil; 06:53.6); 2- Individual

Open Double Sculls (MCV2X): 1- Tamil Nadu (Arun Kumar M, Gowtham Enian S; 07:12.3); 2- West Bengal

Coxed Eights (M8+): 1: Army (Babu Lal Yadav, Lekh Ram, Akshat, Parvinder Singh, Neeraj, Naresh Kalwaniya, Neetish Kumar, Charanjeet Singh, Mukul Kumar; 06:09.4); 2- Telengana

Coxed Eights (M8+): 1-Manipur (Manmohan, Raghav Saran, Prayas, Manveer Singh, Anil Kumar, Hanuman, Sankit, Bhanu Pratap Singh, Chotu Nath, 06:09.1); 2-Kerala.

Quadruple Sculls (M4X): 1- Services (Ashish Phugat, Jakar Khan, Karamjit Singh, Kulwinder Singh; 06:26.7); 2- Assam

Coxless Pairs (M2-): 1-Services (Sannee Kumar, Iqbal Singh; 07:21.8); 2- Telengana

Women: Coxless Fours (W4-): 1-Manipur (Changamayum Priya Devi, Yumnam Chengloulembi Devi, Thangjam Priya Devi, Haobijam Tendenthoi Devi, 07:02.1) 2- Meghalaya

Coxless Fours (W4-): W4xh2: 1-Kerala (Amala Prasad, Aswani Kumaran V P, Anna Helen Joseph, Davapriya D; 07:27.2)

Light Weight Double Sculls (LW2X): 1-Orrisa (Anshika Bharti, Nikita Dnyaneshwar Gavhane; 07:58.9); 2-Meghalaya

Light Weight Double Sculls (LW2X): 1- Haryana (Diksha, Savita; 07:48.2); 2- Manipur

Light Weight Double Sculls (LW2X): 1-Madhya Pradesh (Poonam, Rukmani Dangi; 08:07.0s); 2 – Kerala.

Coxless Pairs (W2-): 1-Manipur (Gurbani Kaur, Diljod Kaur; 08:30.8); 2-Meghalaya

Coxless Pairs (W2-): 1- Kerala (Vijinamol B, Aleena Anto; 08:13.0); 2- Tamil Nadu

Quadruple Sculls (W4X): 1-Orrisa (Richael Lakra, Reshma Lakra, Manisha Kispotta, Sonalika Das, 07:39.6)

Quadruple Sculls (W4X): 1- Madhya Pradesh (Vindhya Sankit, Poonam, Kushpreet Kaur, Rukmani Dangi; 07:32.8), 2- Maharashtra (Arya Naik, Kasturi Chaugale, Akshada Nigal, Sanika Mane, 07:50.1)

Quadruple Sculls (W4X): 1- Tamil Nadu (Tamilselvi S, Rosemastica Meril A, Fatisiuba K, Bagavathy R; 07:37.8); 2-Madhya Pradesh

Coxed Eights (W8+): 1- Tamil Nadu (A. Akilandeshawari, Madhumitha D, S Rohini Priya, M Priyadharshani, Tamilselvi S, Rosemastica Meril A, Fatisiuba K, Bagavathy R, Diya Subramaniam; 07:16.8); 2- Orissa

Single Sculls (W1X): 1- Maharashtra (Mrunmayee Salgaonkar; 08:35.4); 2- Andaman;

Single Sculls (W1X): 1-Madhya Pradesh (Khushpreet Kaur; 08:40.3);





About India News

Check Also


Share New Delhi: Passing Out Parade (POP) of third batch of Agniveers (02/2023) was held …

Sahifa Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.